Schusterman Library

We help students become scholars.

Databases

Find all our content on this subject here.

New Online Resources for Health Sciences Students

Thu, 10/01/2015 - 2:14pm -- apeterson

Blog Teaser

The Schusterman Library now provides access to BoardVitals.  These resources are for health sciences students.

BoardVitals is a large question bank for In-Service exams, Board Exams, Shelf Exams, and Physician Re-Certifications. Includes 20,000 questions, answers, and explanations targeted to over 20 medical and other healthcare specialties. Includes the following question banks: NCLEX PN and RN, USMLE Steps 1, 2, and 3. To access BoardVitals, go to http://library.ouhsc.edu/go.php?c=13848172.

 

This post is filed under : 

Problems with access to McGraw-Hill Medical e-resources

Mon, 09/21/2015 - 2:55pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

If you are using e-books or articles in any of the "Access" series of e-resources, you may have trouble accessing them from off-campus. This is because currently, McGraw-Hill requires that you create a free "MyAccess" account in order to use these resources from off-campus. Furthermore, you can only create this account while on the OU-Tulsa campus, although you can subsequently access the "MyAccess" account from off-campus once you do this, in addition to successfully negotiating the usual university logon.

Obviously this is not an ideal situation for our users, and we are working  to make it easier for our users to access these resources online from off-campus. In the meantime feel free to create a free "MyAccess" account while you are on campus while we work toward a better solution.

If you continue to have problems access these (or any other) library resources, please call the Library Front Desk at 918-660-3220 for assistance, or use our Chat feature on our website.

The affected products are:

 

This post is filed under : 

Test drive our new Discovery search

Mon, 11/03/2014 - 11:14am -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

Test drive the library's new Discovery search! You'll find it in the Start Here area on the Library website's front page.What is this? We'll quote Bizzell Library on the subject - they've been using the new Discovery search for over a year now:Discover is searching authoritative scholarly content that includes a combination of the resources of the University of Oklahoma Libraries’ vast local resources, plus another index (called Primo Central™) which consists of hundreds of millions of scholarly, multi-lingual e-resources of global and regional importance. These include journal articles, e-books, newspaper articles, reviews, legal documents and more that are harvested from publishers and combined publishing collections, as well as from academic open-access repositories.We think both OU-Norman and OUHSC users will like the new search, but there's always room for improvement. So be sure to tell us about how you think it can be improved by taking our brief survey here.

This post is filed under : 

Citation Mapping? Use Web of Knowledge!

Mon, 12/23/2013 - 11:27am -- Visitor (not verified)

Blog Teaser

Web of Knowledge is a great discovery tool for a complex research project. This citation search database allows users to look up citations by authors, titles, and more. One of its notable features is the Citation Map function. The map generates a visual graphic of all the citations to their sources and secondary articles that reference those original citations. The database is  also compatible with EndNote and mobile browsing.

This post is filed under : 

Plan, Learn & Stay Current in Clinical Studies with clinicaltrials.gov

Thu, 10/03/2013 - 3:42pm -- abrackett

Blog Teaser

Clincaltrials.gov database allows you to search private and public human clinical studies. You can even research the studies by topic, stage of development, or area. Each study profile, tells you about the purpose, brief summary, publication, recruitment information, and who conducted the research along with their university or company affiliation. The website also has information about what a clinical study entails and how to read study results. You can also submit your clinical study on the website to help others learn about your research.

To learn more and start your research, go to https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/home

Find the Perfect Grant or Sponsoring Foundation for your Organization

Tue, 10/01/2013 - 1:52pm -- abrackett

Blog Teaser

Foundation Directory Online assists nonprofits and grant seekers find grants and foundations with their free exhaustive database of nearly 90,000 profiles on different foundations and list of 3 million grants available for application. Additionally, the site provides useful information about how to submit a proposal, how to plan fundraisers, and even how to manage a nonprofit. Webinars are also available, upon a paid registration, to help you develop a stronger grant application.

To start finding grants for your organization and sponsoring foundations, go to https://fconline.foundationcenter.org/.

This post is filed under : 

Access the DSM-V Online

Wed, 09/11/2013 - 4:43pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

The library has one print copy of the DSM-V available in our permanent reserves - come by and use this important reference in the library anytime.

More conveniently for you, we also offer online access to the DSM-V.

All faculty, staff, and students will be able to access this while on the Schusterman Campus.

Health Sciences students, faculty, and staff can access this resource from off-campus using their HSC logons.

 

This post is filed under : 

Search Smarter with JSTOR

Mon, 08/19/2013 - 1:33pm -- abrackett

Blog Teaser

JSTOR has a new search option, “Search Smarter,” a beta search with a new interface that allows users to better understand their search results by linking matching terms and ranking results.

The Search Smarter interface, Beta Search, allows you to focus your search as well as weight the importance of the filter types. For example, you can give more weight to finding research materials that are articles over books, or give more weight to recent publications, in order to help you find the most relevant materials for your type of research.

What is unique about Beta Search is that it does not solely depend on the key terms given by the publisher as the means in which to find an article, book or other type of material; instead, it tracks trends of search topics as well as any feedback given by the users to better focus searches and retrieval of materials. Of course, JSTOR still has its popular feature of narrowing your search by subject and journal as well as its familiar basic and advanced search options.

JSTOR intends to use the Beta Search indeed as a beta instrument; thus, creating a better search engine overtime that was developed by the input of its users. 

This post is filed under : 

What journal should I publish in?

Mon, 01/28/2013 - 11:38am -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

The answer to that question varies from field to field. But in many academic disciplines, there are hundreds of journals to choose from. Sometimes the choice is easy - if your research is highly specialized, you probably already know what small subset of journals will be appropriate.

However, if you want to publish in a journal with a high impact factor, or want to know how one journal stacks up against other journals, the library has a tool that can help you. You can use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) in the Web of Knowledge database to find out what journals' articles are the most frequently cited in a field, which have the highest impact factors, or just how many articles a particular journal might have published in a given time frame.

The JCR provides you with plenty of quantitative data include handy graphics and tables to help you interpret the information provided. The library can help you get started with using JCR. Contact us if you would like to know more about this useful tool.

HSC users can find it on the Bird Library website through Web of Science. - just click on the "Additional Resources" tab.

Norman-based users can access JCR through the Bizzell Library databases, also through Web of science.

 

(Zombie) Infectious Diseases and Staying Informed

Wed, 05/02/2012 - 4:28pm -- Visitor (not verified)

Blog Teaser

By now you have surely heard... May is Zombie Awareness Month at the Schusterman Library! As part of an ongoing effort to prevent a zombie pandemic, the library wants to make you aware of this excellent resource: Healthmap.org.

In 2006 a team of researchers, epidemiologists, and software developers at Children's Hospital Boston created this site, bringing together data from various sources to construct a map of emerging infectious diseases throughout the world.

Okay, so maybe you can't track zombie outbreaks, but you can track outbreaks globally and locally. For instance, did you know that yesterday Montana confirmed its second case of Hantavirus for this year?

There is also a mobile app, 'Outbreaks Near Me,' that delivers real-time information. Stay informed... and stay alive!

 

Databases vs. E-Journals: Which is better?

Thu, 04/05/2012 - 1:44pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

That's a trick question. Databases are good, and e-journals are good, just for different things.

We've talked to several students lately who, when we ask them where they've been searching for articles, tell us that they look up e-journals in their discipline and browse throught those. However, if what you're doing is trying to search for several articles on a particular topic, there may be a better way.

When you search a database, you search hundreds or thousands of e-journals all at once. This is a good thing, because you don't really know where that perfect article is going to show up. You'd think that the important journals in your field would be the best place to look. Often, that may be the case. But there may be journals in your field that you don't know about. There may also be interdisciplinary journals that cover your topic.

That's the value of databases - you don't have to guess where the perfect article is going to be. You'll get results gathered from different journals, including many that you might never have thought to look in. And you don't have to look through them one at a time. You search all those journals at once.

So what is the value of e-journals? They're a great place to find a particular item. If you already have a citation, go straight to the e-journal to find the whole thing. They're also a good place to browse for the latest information in your field--the latest news and research.

If you want to know more about searching databases, or how to use e-journals to find a particular citation, please contact a librarian.

This post is filed under : 

Anatomic images and animations at Primal Pictures

Thu, 03/08/2012 - 9:12am -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

You can access Primal Pictures (also known as Anatomy.TV) through the library's Ovid account. Primal Pictures images are derived from real human data, and allows you to view over 5000 three-dimensional anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations, and more. Best of all, you can use these images for private educational use, such as course work, using images in classroom PowerPoint presentations, or posters at events, as long as you provide proper credit.

To use Primal Pictures, access Ovid, and look in the blue bar above the database list:

More like this: 

New for clinical searchers: OvidMD

Tue, 01/24/2012 - 2:28pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

OvidMD is a new clinical tool from the people who bring you the Ovid databases. It is aimed at physicians and clinicians who want quick answers to clinical questions based on relevant full-text content.  It differs from the Ovid search interface you're used to - it's a single search box, optimized for physicians. Resutls come from journals, reference books, and image collections, among other places.

Accessing OvidMD is a little tricky. First, go to the Ovid link on the library's home page as if you were going to do a regular Ovid search. There is a blue menu bar above the list of databases. The last one on the left says External Links. When you hover over that, a new context menu appears, and the last item on that list is OvidMD. Click that link and you'll see the OvidMD search box. No instructions needed from this point on - just type in your search terms and you're off.

Alternative, navigate to http://ovidmd.ovid.com/Home from on campus, or here, off campus.

 

This post is filed under : 

New in Access Medicine

Mon, 12/19/2011 - 12:17pm -- jjanzen

Blog Teaser

Several new textbooks have been added to the electronic content in Access Medicine.  One is "Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 2e"--an engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine.

Check out "The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy"--with an emphasis on need to know versus nice to know, it features 450 full-color illustrations to build knowledge of essential anatomy.

Databases often add new editions or titles.  Watch for ones that are most useful for your specialty.

This post is filed under : 

Database Search Tips

Tue, 08/23/2011 - 4:06pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

  • Not all databases are the same! Choose a database that closely reflects your topic to get better results. For example, if you are looking for medical information, you wouldn’t get relevant results in a business database.
  • Some database providers, such as OVID or EBSCO, allow you to search more than one database at the same time. This is not always a good idea. Often, a database will have a unique feature that’s not found in other databases—for example, subject term searching. If you search more than one database at a time, you won’t be able to take advantage of a particular database’s unique feature.
  • If you’re not sure what databases are the best for your purpose, contact a librarian. We can help you select the right database. Database providers are always adding new features, and we can show you how to take advantage of them!
This post is filed under : 

The Drug Information Portal

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 1:23pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

The National Library of Medicine offers an excellent resource for health care professionals and consumers: The Drug Information Portal. https://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp This portal allows you to search various government databases for information about drugs. From the homepage you can search for drugs "By Name" or "By Category." If searching by a specific drug name, the portal will search such consumer information databases as MedlinePlus (great for patient information), Drugs@FDA (another great patient-level resource), ClinicalTrials.gov (provides current information about a drug's clinical research studies), Pillbox (allows user to visually search for and identify an unknown pharmaceutical), et cetera. You can also find information on a more professional level, including searching for drug references in scientific journals (Medline, PubMed), references from toxicological journals (Toxline), information about biological activities and chemical structures (PubChem), summaries of a drug's effect on breastfeeding (LactMed), et cetera. Take a few moments to explore this excellent resource and if you have any questions, contact the Schusterman Library at 660-3220.  

What's EBSCO? Why do we talk about it so much?

Mon, 02/28/2011 - 10:44pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

The EBSCO databases are a collection of databases available to all OU-Tulsa students.

The librarians often recommend them because the EBSCO databases are fairly easy to use, and because they offer useful features that make your searching more fruitful. Furthermore, EBSCO is a collection of databases, not a single database, so you can choose from many subject-specific databases for your search, as well as some general academic databases that come in handy when you're not quite sure where to start searching. There are different sets of EBSCO databases for health sciences and Norman-based students, so be sure to look at the databases page on the library website to go to the EBSCO that's right for you. You'll be able to access these databases both on campus and from your home or work computer, once you log in. Many of these databases offer the full text of articles, but of course you already know that you can order any article that doesn't come with full text from the library's interlibrary loan service. Questions? Ask the librarians!

This post is filed under : 

Which is the best database to use?

Mon, 02/21/2011 - 7:50pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

Confused by all the search options available?

Can’t figure out which database is the absolute best match for your research question?

No worries! The OU-Tulsa Library website helps you get started.

The Library Resources For… section collects the major databases for your academic subject all in one place.

But if you’re absolutely stuck and want us to name names, here are two good places to start. In the health sciences, 

PubMed gives you access to the finest and most comprehensive health database in the world, Medline.

For general academic and scholarly subjects, Academic Search Premier has a wide range of articles that will help you get started.

There are different versions of Academic Search Premier for students in the health sciences programs and students in Norman-based programs, so be sure to look at your department’s entry in Library Resources For… to go to the right place.

Of course you can always ask the librarians as well. We can steer you to the specific resources that will best suit your subject. Contact us now!

This post is filed under : 

What's a library catalog and why should I use it?

Thu, 02/17/2011 - 7:44pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

The OU-Tulsa Library catalog is basically a big list of everything the library owns. In the old days the catalog existed as a set of drawers filled with small index cards covered with information about books. These days the catalog is online.

And now, the catalog even includes links to many items that the library owns in electronic format. Even better, the OU-Tulsa Library catalog links you directly to WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections. Access to WorldCat allows you to see the holdings of almost every library in the United States--and beyond. What does this mean for you? It means:

  • you can find out what the library owns from any computer, anywhere.
  • you can often access the full-text of many of the library's items directly through the catalog, once you find out we own them.
  • even if we don't have the specific resource you need here on campus, you can use the catalog's link to interlibrary loan to order almost any item--for free.
  • And there are tons of useful features that allow you to cite, export, link, make lists, print, share, and tag the items in the catalog.

 

This post is filed under : 

Today's links: 2010-09-02: Google Public Data Explorer

Thu, 09/02/2010 - 7:31am -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

  • The Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. You don't have to be a data expert to navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings.
This post is filed under : 

USMLE Step 1 Practice Exams (free!) available

Thu, 05/06/2010 - 2:26pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

Exam Master's completely revised USMLE Step 1 Practice Exam is available from the OU-Tulsa Library's website.

This practice exam is the first in a series of new practice exams, called USMLExpress. Based on the NBME blueprint, Exam Master's USMLExpress Step 1 practice exam is designed to give the Step 1 candidate a realistic exam experience. It consists of 336 test items divided into 7 exam blocks of 48 questions each.

To access the practice exam, login to Exam Master and select "New Practice Exam" -->"USMLExpress Step 1 Practice Exam" -->"Go to exam." You may have to maximize your browser to see all the links.

Once you've arrived, you have the choice of Test or Study modes for these exams.

Questions, problems, or issues? Contact the library!

This post is filed under : 

Renewing your DynaMed serial numbers

Fri, 02/05/2010 - 7:08pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

If you've downloaded DynaMed for your PDA or phone, you probably got a serial number from the library at some point in the process.

These serial numbers expire after a year, and you'll have to get a new one to continue using DynaMed on your PDA or phone.

Get your new serial number by contacting the library at 660-3220 or by contacting DynaMed user support directly at dynamedsupport@ebscohost.com.

Please specify which type of PDA device you are using (e.g. BlackBerry, iPhone, etc.)

If you haven't downloaded DynaMed to your phone yet, use the contact information above to get started!

There is no charge for students, faculty, or staff. 

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.

With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is an evidence-based reference that you can use to answer clinical questions during practice.

To find, or not to find...

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 5:15pm -- Visitor (not verified)

Blog Teaser

If you're wondering where to turn for answers in your research, there are two databases available through the OU-Tulsa Library website that may help you track down that elusive piece of information faster than you can say "Wherefore art thou!"

The first is JSTOR, a database providing older articles from journals in "African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics."   It has a huge retrospective of articles, although nothing more recent than three to five years ago.   More good news: articles are available in full text.  Great place to find those classics that are often not available elsewhere.

Another group of powerful electronic resources are the Ebsco databases which provide extensive coverage in diverse fields of study.   Included are Academic Search Premier, PsycInfo, Business Source Premier, Health Source Academic, Cinahl Plus with Full Text,  and Newspaper Source Plus.    You can find links to all  these databases through our databases page. Please contact us for a demonstration of any of our database products.

Come, and take choice of all my library, And so beguile thy sorrow. Ahh...  Thank you, Mr. Shakespeare.

This post is filed under : 

Preview PubMed's new look

Tue, 09/29/2009 - 10:35pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

PubMed is undergoing a redesign, and you can see the new look on PubMed's preview page.

The goals of the redesign, according to the National Library of Medicine, are "to make PubMed easier to use, simplify the interface, refresh the look, better organize the text on the screen, and promote scientific discovery."

If you test-drive the new PubMed from the preview page, you'll find that the results page is similar to what you're used to seeing. 

  • Some older display formats will be retired.
  • The Advanced Search (which is already available in the old PubMed) gives you more options for limiting searches.
  • Other useful features, most of which have always been available, will be more visible to users. 

You can find detailed information on the changes in the September 30th issue of the  NLM Technical Bulletin.

The new PubMed will go live soon. Those of you who have saved searches in PubMed don't need to worry, as these won't be affected by the changes.

We did notice that there were some minor display issues when viewing the new PubMed in the Firefox browser, but these go away when you use Internet Explorer.

If you have any questions about using PubMed, or if you'd like some instruction on how to use it more efficiently, or would like to know more about the new interface, contact us here at the library, at 918-660-3220.

This post is filed under : 

Library Databases

Mon, 09/28/2009 - 6:47pm -- jjanzen

Blog Teaser

1ResearcherReads

Need an article on a specific topic?  Try searching the electronic databases. 

For general academic research, we recommend the EBSCO collection of databases, especially Academic Search Premier. 

Although there are several EBSCO databases worth investigating, Social Work Abstracts, PsycINFO, and ERIC are noteworthy for social sciences students, and CINAHL

Need an article on a specific topic?  Try searching the electronic databases. 

For general academic research, we recommend the EBSCO collection of databases, especially Academic Search Premier. 

Although there are several EBSCO databases worth investigating, Social Work Abstracts, PsycINFO, and ERIC are noteworthy for social sciences students, and CINAHL is beneficial for nursing students. 

Health sciences students will want to use Ovid to access several medical databases, especially Medline. 

For evidence based medicine articles, try searching DynaMed through EBSCO or EBM Reviews through Ovid.

Health sciences center students can access the databases by visiting the databases area on the library website.

Students in other academic programs can access the databases by conducting a search for a database title in the Find Databases search box on the front of the Bizzell Library webpage.

This post is filed under : 

Where do I begin searching for articles?

Mon, 09/14/2009 - 6:48pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

Are you trying to find articles and you do not know where to start? Start with the library databases!

For medical or health sciences topics, try PubMed or OVID to search Medline, the most important health sciences database in the world. Medline contains citations from over 5,000 journals in biomedical fields going back to 1950 (with a limited amount of older material).

For other subjects, you can begin with EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database with wide coverage, containing citations from over 4600 journals in most areas of academic study.

Still confused? Need more detailed direction? Contact a librarian at 918-660-3220 for help, or to set up a personal consultation, or send us an email!

This post is filed under : 

DynaMed H1N1 Flu Information Updates

Mon, 05/04/2009 - 5:47pm -- jjanzen

Blog Teaser

DynaMed, one of OU-Tulsa Library's point-of-care databases,  has announced that its information topic about the current worldwide outbreak of H1N1 flu is being offered free to all healthcare professionals and institutions.

As always, DynaMed tries to provide the best and most current information available to support clinical decision-making at the bedside.   References, including reviews and guidelines, are included,  along with diagnosis, treatment options, and patient information.  

Flu resources from the CDC, WHO and others  are constantly monitored and the DynaMed staff is updating the topic at least daily. OU-Tulsa students, faculty and staff can access any DynaMed topic from the library's E-Resources page.   The H1N1 flu topic alone may be viewed by anyone at  DynaMed.

This post is filed under : 

New feature on ExamMaster

Tue, 02/24/2009 - 10:52pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

ExamMaster (from the OU-Tulsa Library website) has a new feature. You can now search by the subject and category groups assigned to the questions, rather than just being able to search for information that may be found within a question. For example, if you want to search for questions dealing with "infectious diseases", you need not include specific disease names within the search. To use this feature, please go to New Exam and click on Outline Search. Enter in the subjects or categories you would like to search and the system will give you the ability to create exams from the results. ExamMaster is test-taking software that allows you to:

  • Access a large medical question bank containing thousands of questions
  • Take exams that simulate the actual board exam experience
  • Quickly identify your strengths and weaknesses
  • Customize the selection of your study material.

For more information about ExamMaster, please contact the OU-Tulsa library at 918-660-3220, or email a librarian.

This post is filed under : 

A useful science database

Mon, 02/02/2009 - 4:23pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

You may not be familiar with ISI Web of Knowledge, available through the OU-Tulsa library and also through Bizzell Library. This is a useful science database that also offers some interesting features. In this database, you can

  • search grant activity, including finding out who is funding research at specific institutions
  • find out who is citing whom, and locate a cited reference
  • see journal impact factors: what are the important journals in your field?
  • see tables of contents of scholarly books and journals
  • use a sophisticated search interface to search science journals (and more!), some back to 1900.

Look for this database through the library's databases link on the library home page. Questions? Email a reference librarian or call the library front desk at 918-660-3220.

This post is filed under : 

ExamMaster to practice for board tests

Tue, 01/06/2009 - 2:57pm -- MsHoberecht

Blog Teaser

OU-Tulsa students can practice for their board tests for free using ExamMaster, available through the OU-Tulsa Library web site. You can practice the USMLE, NAPLEX, and PANCE. We also have medical certification reviews available in internal medicine, family medicine, general surgery, general pediatrics, OB/GYN, and emergency medicine.

But wait, there's more! There are medical subject reviews in anatomy, biochemistry, pathology, and many other subjects. Contact the library if you need help accessing ExamMaster, or if you have any questions.

This post is filed under : 
Subscribe to Databases